top of page

Paul T. Scott Award

The Paul T. Scott Award was created by the Melbourne Municipal Band’s (MMB) Board of Trustees (BOT) in 1996 to honor a dedicated and outstanding member of the MMB. Paul T. Scott was an outstanding musician and former member of the U.S. Army Band. He traveled regularly from the far side of Orlando to attend MMB rehearsals, eventually moving to Melbourne because of his dedication to MMB.

A recipient of the Paul T. Scott Award must:

1. Be, or have been, a member of the Melbourne Municipal Band, one of its sub-ensembles or a support group

2. Have demonstrated a serious dedication to the MMB

3. Have made outstanding contributions to the MMB and its continued success

The Paul T. Scott Award is awarded each year by the BOT and presented at the Annual Membership Meeting.


Kurt Schulenburg

Kurt is the conductor of the New Horizons band and the 321 Jazz Orchestra (formerly known as Swingtime). He is also a skilled carpenter and has built storage systems for our band room and a new staircase to get into our attic.


Staci Rosbury

Staci has been the conductor of the concert band since 2010. In addition to her duties there, she volunteers on the marketing committee, runs the band's website and social media, and managed the band's Covid response during the pandemic.

Art Martin and Shirley Brunton with her Paul Scott Award for 2022


Shirley is the MMB Librarian and is a member of the percussion section. Pictured here with Art Martin, Executive Administrator.

bottom of page